The company is in Britain. Below is all the information you need to know, it is an e-mail message from them. I may know a scam when I can smell it or detect it. I feel that as long as they don’t ask for your bank account number, social security number or money to be wired to them to claim the prize money then I might be assured that it is not a scam. But then again I could be wrong they could send me a fake check . . . . hey you never . . . . I don’t trust a check from them But if its money wired to me via western union, or moneygram by them the coca-cola company then that is fine. Also I have similiar e-mails saying to claim a huge amount of money but from other people.
__here is the Letter(Below)______________________________________________
Cola is the world’s most popular soft drink. Sold in more than 200 countries, it is produced by The Coca-Cola Company and is often simply referred as Coke. Originally intended as a ‘patent medicine’ when it was invented in the late 19th century by pharmacist John S. Pemberton as a ‘coca wine’, Coca-Cola has dominated the worldwide soft drink market for decades now.
THE COCA COLA COMPANY
PROMOTION/PRIZE AWARD
DEPTCOCA COLA AVENUE
STAMFORD BRIDGE LONDON.
SW1V 3DW UNITED KINGDOM
THE COCA COLA COMPANY OFFICIAL PRIZE NOTIFICATION 2009
We are pleased to inform you of the result of the just concluded annual final draws held on the (8th May 2009) by Coca-Cola in conjunction with the British American Tobacco Worldwide Promotion, your email was among the 4 Lucky winners who won £2,500,000.00 (Two million, Five Hundred Great Britain Pound Sterlings) each on the THE COCA’COLA COMPANY PROMOTION However the results were released on the (12th of May 2009) and your email was attached to ticket number (7PWYZ2006) and ballot number (BT:12052006/20) The online draws was conducted by a random selection of email addresses from an exclusive list of 30,031 E-mail addresses of individuals and corporate bodies picked by an advanced automated random computer search from the internet. However, no tickets were sold but all email addresses were assigned to different ticket numbers for representation and privacy.
The selection process was carried out through random selection in our computerized email selection machine (TOPAZ) from a database of over 250,000 email addresses drawn from all the continents of the world and your winning category falls within our African category so you are to claim your money through our African claim agent
This Lottery is approved by the South Afrcan/British Gaming Board and also Licensed by the The International Association of Gaming Regulators (IAGR).This lottery is the 3rd of its kind and we intend to sensitize the public.
In other to claim your £2,500.000(Two million, Five Hundred Great Britain Pound Sterlings) prize winning, which has been deposited in a designated bank. However,you will have to fill the form below and send it to the Promotion Agent of THE COCA COLA COMPANY in South Africa for verification and then you will be directed on how you can claim your winning funds.
1, FULLNAME:………………………………………………….
2, ADDRESS:…………………………………………………….
3, CITY/STATE:……………………………………………………
4, COUNTRY OF ORIGIN:…………………………………….
5, MARITAL STATUS:…………………………………………..
6, SEX…………………………………………………………………
7, AGE……………………………………………
8, TEL;……………FAX : …………………………………..
9, OCCUPATION:…………………………………….
Please you are adviced to complete the form and send it immediately to our Africa claim agent through email for prompt collection of your fund.
(CONTACT PROMOTION AGENT)
Name: Mr. Patrick thabo
Email: patrickthabo1@terra.com
You are to keep all lotto information away from the general public especially your ticket number and ballot number. (This is important as a case of double claims will not be entertained).
*Staff of CocaCola and the British American Tobacco Company are not to partake in this Lottery.
Accept my hearty congratulations once again!
Yours faithfully,
Mrs. Kate Hudson
Cordinator
The CocaCola Company.Copy Right © 2009 All Right Reserve
____________________________________________________
I hope I get the money . . . . but your advice is foremost important.
Thank you.
May 19, 2010 at 2:51 am
That’s an awful lot of misspelled words for it to be authentic… You would think if it was real they would at least run the email through spell check, right?
[Translate]
May 19, 2010 at 3:35 am
TO: Hey Day,
Do not reply to this email! It is a BIG SCAM. PLUS FALSE ADVERTISING! If you answer this; you will be very sorry. They will never leave you alone; plus they will try to get some money out of you!
For one thing: It is against the law to ask any of the above personal information on email. Because spammers will pick up this information very quickly.
If you want to play it safe: CLICK ON SPAM OR DELETE. & THEN CONTACT: YAHOO SECURITY NOW.
BUT BEFORE YOU DELETE THIS: COPY AND PASTE IT TO THE: YAHOO HELP FORM FOR PROBLEMS. OK? BUT PLEASE; REPORT THIS!!! DON’T WAIT!!!
Because Yahoo Security can track these people down.
SIGNED,
ANGEL
[Translate]
May 19, 2010 at 4:22 am
Question one: How can you win something you did not enter?
Question two: Why are they asking for your information if they know you are the winner, they should have that data already.
Question three: Why are you opening mail from people you do not know? Coca Cola has no promotion prize award.
It is a scam to get your personal information and/or money.
Do not respond to it.
Report it to yahoo, so they are aware.
Forward to spam@yahoo.com or spoof@yahoo.com (If it involves a lot of money)
And for your E-mail safety, remember:
Never open E-mail unless you are absolutely sure of who sent it, treat ALL others as spam.
Never give your personal information out to anyone, be it E-mail, snail mail, phone calls or at your front door.
[Translate]
May 19, 2010 at 4:48 am
This is a SCAM. There is no prize whatsoever. If you click on the below link this site confirms various email scams hitting the internet and provides an online form for the reporting of such, with links for your own country.
http://www.consumerfraudreporting.org/identify.php
http://help.yahoo.com/l/us/yoo2.phpahoo/...
Unscrupulous thieves have sent you this email and they are trying to part you from your hard earned cash. They will often ask you to call a premium rate number and keep you holding on whilst you rack up a huge phone bill. They are then paid a large proportion of this phone bill. They may ask you to divulge personal information about yourself or ask for your bank or credit card details. Do not divulge any such information under any circumstances. It is surprising how many innocent victims have been duped by these types of emails. Please remember the thieves who send them are very clever and extremely convincing. I suggest you delete the email and send it into cyberspace.
Check out these sites for further information :
http://www.scambusters.com
http://www.hoax-slayer.com/
[Translate]
May 19, 2010 at 5:01 am
You don’t get anything for nothing, , it’s a scam do not answer do not give personal information.The following sites give more information
http://www.scambusters-419.co.uk
http://www.truthorfiction.com
.Also If you go to the following link you will get some info on ID theft http://www.identity-theft.org.uk please answer nothing that you are doubtful about.Good Luck and be careful
[Translate]
May 19, 2010 at 5:18 am
There are some misspellings so I’m not sure but i got the same sort of thing. The only difference is that the person I am supposed to contact is James something not patrick thabo. I don’t know. Tell me if you get $.
[Translate]